True Life: I Stutter

You know, ever since I came back from the Successful Stuttering Management Program (SSMP) in summer 2005, one of my biggest passions has been spreading more awareness on stuttering. After coming back from the program, I started putting myself out there more; going into situations that I never put myself into. This led to me finding out that a lot of the general public doesn’t know squat on stuttering or if they know something about it, then it’s usually a stereotype. I am the type of person who wants to do something to see something happen. So my mom gave me this great idea after I had a very rough week. “Why not write to Oprah!” This was a great idea; how come I didn’t think of it before? So, a couple months later ( I procrastinated ;)) I had a three page letter ready for Oprah and two video tapes. One of the videos was my SSMP tape and the other one was a video that my friend took of me while I called a travel agency and ordered some pizza (to show what it is like). I sent of the letter in around May 2006 ( My memory is fuzzy, but it was around that time).

So it has been around year since I sent it, AND….no sign from Oprah.

Oprah is a busy woman, so I forgive her 😉

Now, if one try doesn’t work, don’t give up! Around November 2006, while I was still new to Texas, I began thinking of maybe I should write to more talk show hosts instead of just writing again to Oprah. I got the idea of writing to MTV, especially to their True Life department. True Life is a show which follows real people, dealing with real problems, not scripted at all (ironic huh? Since it’s on MTV). Why not write to True Life and pitch in the idea of doing a segment on stuttering. The only exposure stuttering has gotten on media is related to the devices that go in your ear (i.e. fluency master, speak easy, etc.). These devices work for some people, but everyone’s stuttering is different. I had one when I was around 13, but it never helped me.

Anyways, so I wrote an email to MTV on November 21st, 2006, and I still have the original e-mail! A couple of weeks ago, I found out that MTV is casting for three people between the ages of 16-26 who STUTTER!!! This has made me very excited that it will finally show what stuttering is like. I would love to go on this show and show people! I don’t care if my stuttering will be severe on the show, it’s my attitude that counts. Besides, I got the techniques down pretty well. This is a great way to finally start bridging that gap between stutterers and non-stutterers!

More to come.

Cya!

8 Responses

  1. what are some suitable jobs for a person who stutters? i’d appreciate any feedbacks

  2. Hey Tony,

    Do you mean jobs that would help you cope with your stuttering and make your more confident or jobs that you would have that won’t require you to talk much?

    I’ve only had one job and that was being a courtesy clerk (I’m 18) and that job helped me out a lot, because I had to interact with a lot of customers and actually a lot of them liked me a lot because I stuttered. Now I don’t know how old you are so courtesy clerk might not be necessarily the best job for you, but what I would suggest is a job where you do daily communication. I’ve met a lot of people with different jobs who stutter. Some where sales reps, doctors, teachers, and jobs that some would think would not suit well for stutterers. It all depends on what you want to do. Anything is possible!

    Thanks for stopping by

    -Dmitriy

  3. […] True Life: I Stutter (Part 2) If you haven’t read the first part, you can do so by clicking here. […]

  4. Nice article 😉

  5. I just saw the True Life episode… made me cry…

    I know the pain..

  6. I just graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration. I graduated with a 3.7 GPA. I have been trying to get a job but no one wants to hire me. I truly think it is because I stutter. It hurts a lot.

  7. Grace, the most important thing is to keep on trying! What types of job roles are you trying to get?

    -Dmitriy

  8. I’ve been stuttering since I was 9. I’m now 30 years old and although I am sometimes better than I once was, I know how painful it is when you know you have the skills and talents for a particular job and you either feel youcannot get it it or you KNOW that you are discriminated against because you stutter.

    Being a stutterer can be very painful. I have always wanted to start an online job bank for stutterers and others with impairments. I dont know how to make that happen but in my job search, I’ve always said imagine how much at ease other stutterers would be in their job search if they knew a site to go to where every employer who posted a job there would know that the people applying through that site may have a speech impediment. It would take the anxiety, at least a little, out of hoping for that opportunity.

Leave a Reply

